Search reviews

Filter, read and compare reviews from

The Lowdown community

Method
Reviewer
Side effects

Lowdown user
1 day ago

Great for reducing pain and super low maintenance

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
2 days ago

I didn’t find the insertion process as painful as I’d imagined. Overall, it’s a low maintenance option which hasn’t caused me heavy periods or discomfort. I have had more encounters with thrush than with the combined pill, but not enough to make me reconsider the coil.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
2 days ago

This pill did not agree with me - my moods were all over the place and I’d be bleeding for months at a time. Have since switched to the hormonal coil with which I’ve already had a more positive experience after just a few weeks. The migraines I experienced may not have been related to the pill - I have suffered with them for a few years now and was taken off of the combined pill for this reason.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
3 days ago

I had extremely painful periods to the point where I was missing work every month. After trying and failing to get help from my GP, I bought some Hana over the counter in an act of desperation. It's helped immensely with my pain (not gone away, but doesn't debilitate me anymore) and has had the unexpected side affect of making me calmer in general, presumably due to this pill balancing out my hormones. I don't get depressed or hysterical around my period anymore, and feel more in control of my emotions. Glad I tried it.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
3 days ago

I would have spotting for weeks, sometimes for 3 weeks and then it would stop for a couple of months. After about 2 years my periods returned every 6 weeks with incredibly painful ovulation pain mid cycle. It definitely caused an increase in my anxiety and depression but didn’t realise until I had it removed.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
3 days ago

I had spotting for the first 3 months with random intense cramps. I’m on month 5 now and I rarely get cramps. I have a normal cycle with a period which is incredibly light which lasts around 5 days. I get a few spots before my period but that’s not unusual for me as I would get spots before I had kyleena. It hasn’t effected my mood massively, maybe a slight increase in pms.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
4 days ago

Not the worst but not the best either. I had crazy mood swings after starting the implant and also developed anxiety which last the full 18 months until I had it taken out.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
5 days ago

Having previously been on the mini-pill Cerazette for a few years I was having a continuous issue with cystic acne. After topical creams and antibiotics not working I decided to change pill and I was prescribed Lizzinna. At first, my skin did start to clear up and my acne was nothing like it was before but the breast pain/enlargement that came with it was just unbareable. I’ve stuck at this pill for 2 months now hoping this side effect would wear off but it’s still agony just to take my bra off at the end of the day. Im also really really struggling to lose any weight and my weight has actually gone up since I started this pill, even though I’ve been eating well and exercising regularly. With any other pill I’ve been on, losing weight was never an issue so I don’t think this is a coincidence. My skin is not as clear as it was when I first started this one either so looking for other recommendations now.

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
5 days ago

I was prescribed Lucette and at the start all was well. It cleared up my skin a great deal and I only really get spots the week before my break. I have completely lost my libido, and the only time my sex drive increases is in my pill-free break. I suffered and still suffer with painful sex due to dryness and lost of libido, which leads to poor mental health. My periods are a lot lighter but I experience pain and discomfort in the days leading up to my period (thrush like symptoms). I would not recommend this pill at all as the negatives outweigh the ONLY positives (clear skin and lighter periods)

Read more 

Helpful?
Lowdown user
6 days ago

I’ve really enjoyed my experience on the Patch and love that I only have to apply it once a week. I’ve found the best place is the middle upper of the front of my thigh, I found it peeled off easily on my lower back. I’ve had no issues on the Patch and have even found losing weight through diet a lot easier than normal (compared to when I’ve been on the pill previously)

Read more 

Helpful?